Office of District Medical & Health Officer (DMHO)


The office of the District Medical & Health Officer (DMHO), Ri Bhoi District, Nongpoh was established in the year 1992. The DMHO office is located in Nongpoh Town, beside the National Highway 40. The Office is headed by the District Medical and Health Officer. The DM&HO Office is responsible for maintaining and developing the health care system in the District and guiding and supervising the Health and Family Welfare Programmes in the District.

Power and Functions

The DMHO is responsible for directly administrating all Govt. Medical and Health Institutions for implementation of various health Programmes in the District. He or she is the chief Govt. Medico Legal signatory in the District, Local Health authority, District Registrar Births and Deaths, and Chairman of the Medical Board. Any other duties as may be assigned by the Govt. or Director Health and Family Welfare.

Medical & Health Facilities

  • District Hospital : 1
  • Community Health Centres : 3
  • Primary Health Centres : 8
  • State Dispensaries : 2
  • Sub-Centres : 36

Contact Us

  • +91-9366771980
  • dmhorbd[at]gmail[dot]com, nhmrbd[at]rediffmail[dot]com
  • District Medical & Health Officer, Nongpoh, Ri Bhoi District, Meghalaya - 793102
  • Office of the DMHO, Ri Bhoi, Distric

    Office of the DMHO, Ri Bhoi, District, Nongpoh

    Office of the DMHO, Ri Bhoi, District, Nongpoh

  • District Level Poshan Mela

    Health Department participating in District Level Poshan Mela, September 2019

    Health Department participating in District Level Poshan Mela, September 2019

  • Launch of Rota Virus Vaccine

    Launch of Rota Virus Vaccine in Civil Hospital Nongpoh on 25th September 2019

    Launch of Rota Virus Vaccine in Civil Hospital Nongpoh on 25th September 2019

List of Schemes

  • Janani Suraksha Yojna (JSY)
  • Janani Shishu Suraksha Karyakam (JSSK)
  • Pradhan Mantri Matritva Vandana Yojna (PMMVY)
  • Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojna (PMJAY)–Megha Health Insurance Scheme (MHIS) – IV

  • National Health Mission
  • National AYUSH Mission
  • Communicable Disease
    • National Leprosy Eradication Programme (NLEP)
    • Revised National Tuberculosis Control Programme (RNTCP)
    • National Aids Control Programme
    • Integrated Disease Control Programme (IDSP)
    • National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (NVBDCP)
    • National Viral Hepatitis Control Program (NVHCP)
  • Non Communicable Diseases
    • Injury & Trauma
    • Universal Immunization Programme
    • National Programme on Prevention and Control of Diabetes CVD and Stroke
    • National Mental Health Programme
    • National Iodine Deficiency Disorders Control Programme
    • National Programme for Control of Blindness
    • National Tobacco Control Programme
    • National Programme for Health Care of Elderly
    • National Oral Health Programme 
    • National Program for Palliative care (NPPC)
  1. To provide effective Health Care to the population in the District
  2. To undertake architectural correction of Health system and strengthen Public Health Management and service delivery in the District
  3. Registration of Births and Deaths
  4. To revitalize AYUSH in the Public Health System.
  5. Decentralized Management in the district like sanitation, Hygiene, Gender and Social concerns.
  6. To improve access to the rural people especially children and adolescents, women and the elderly through effective Primary Health Centre.
  7. Emergency Medical Services
  8. Awareness generation in relation to health related programs in the District
  9. Reduction in child and maternal mortality.
  10. Universal access to Public Health Care Services with emphasis on services to women’s and children’s Health and Universal Immunization
  11. Family Planning, Contraceptive services and other Reproductive Health Care Services
  12. Prevention and Control of Communicable and Non-Communicable diseases.
  13. Inter-sectoral collaboration with other Departments

Organizational Chart

Organizational Chart
Members of the Organization
Name Designation Office Address
Dr.(Mrs) M. Syiemlieh District Medical & Health Officer Office of the District Medical & Health Officer, Ri Bhoi District, Nongpoh
Dr. (Mrs) D. Blah Addl. District Medical & Health Officer
Dr. (Mrs) E. Kalwing District Malaria Officer, District Tuberculosis Officer
Dr. M. Lyngdoh District Maternal & Child Health Officer
Dr. D. M. Momin Sr. Medical & Health Officer
Dr. V. Mawlong Sr. Dental Surgeon
Dr. (Mrs.) A. J. Syiemlieh Specialist, MD ( Community Medicine)
Dr. (Mrs.) T.N. Sangma Medical & Health Officer
Dr. T. S. Sangma Medical & Health Officer
Dr. P. Wankhar Medical & Health Officer
Smt. A. Kharwanlang District Drugs Inspector
Smt. G. Warjri District Health Education Officer
Smt. E. Pyngrope District Food Inspector
Shri. R. Wanniang SDO, Public Health & Engineering Wing
Shri. P. Chyne Head Assistant
Smt. L. Marbaniang District Programme Manager, NHM
List of Health Facilities
Block Sl. No Facility Name Facility Type Functionality Medical Officer I/C
Umling Block A Nongpoh Civil Hospital First Referral Unit (FRU) Functional Dr. P.N. Chyne, Medical Superintendant
1 Nongpoh attached Areas Notional Sub-Centre Functional Dr. T. Sangma
B Byrnihat PHC 24 x 7 PHC Functional Dr. P.Sangma
1 Narang SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Umling SC Sub-Centre Functional  
3 Baridua SC Sub-Centre Functional  
4 Pillingkata SC Sub-Centre Functional  
5 Amjong SC Sub-Centre Functional  
6 Killing SC Sub-Centre Functional  
C Umden PHC 24×7 PHC Functional Dr. L. Hynniewta
1 Marmain SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Umshaken SC Sub-Centre Functional  
D Marngar PHC PHC Functional Dr. J. Syiem
1 Umsawnongbri SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Umsawnongkharai SC Sub-Centre Functional  
3 Pahambir SC Sub-Centre Functional  
Umsning Block E Umsning CHC Non-FRU CHC Functional Dr. P. Lyngdoh
1 Raitong SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Jamanar SC Sub-Centre Functional  
3 Mawlyndep SC Sub-Centre Functional  
4 Mawtari SC Sub-Centre Functional  
5 Kynjoin Umran SC Sub-Centre Functional  
6 Umsawlum SC Sub-Centre Functional  
7 Mawrong SC Sub-Centre Functional  
8 Kyrdem Kulai SC Sub-Centre Functional  
9 Mawlein SC Sub-Centre Functional  
10 Mawlang SC Sub-Centre Functional  
11 Umtrew SC Sub-Centre Functional  
F Bhoirymbong CHC Non-FRU CHC Functional Dr. T. Sutnga
1 Pynthor SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Iapngar SC Sub-Centre Functional  
3 Umroi SC Sub-Centre Functional  
G Mawhati PHC 24×7 PHC Functional Dr. K. Pariat
1 Sonidan SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Sohphoh SC Sub-Centre Functional  
H Mawlasnai PHC 24×7 PHC Functional Dr. D. Kramsapi
1 Tyrso SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Thadrang SC Sub-Centre Functional  
I Kyrdem PHC PHC Functional Dr. R. Sohkhlet
1 Mawbsein SC Sub-Centre Functional  
J Umtrai PHC 24×7 PHC Functional Dr. Nitu Dekka
1 Umlaper SC Sub-Centre Functional  
K Barapani St. Dispy St. Dispy Functional Dr. F.K. Majaw
Jirang Block L Patharkhmah CHC Non-FRU Functional Dr. K. Lyngdoh
1 Umsong SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Umsohphria Sub-Centre Functional  
3 Tasku SC Sub-Centre Functional  
M Warmawsaw PHC 24×7 Functional Dr. A.R. Kumar
1 Mawdem SC Sub-Centre Functional  
2 Ranibari SC Sub-Centre Non – Functional  
N Jirang State Dispensary St. Dispensary Functional Dr. H. Rehman